Florida Crash Reports Online
Search for Your Florida Accident Report
A Florida crash report is officially titled as ‘HSMV 90010S’. The Florida Traffic Crash Report (HSMV 90010S) is used by state highway patrol and law enforcement officers to report traffic accidents to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). The details in the crash report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. If a police officer did not attend your accident, you have the option to self-file a Driver Self Report of Traffic Crash (form 90011S) online or by mail.
The Florida Traffic Crash Report
There is both a long form (HSMV 90010S) and a short form (HSMV 90010S) for Florida crash reports. A Long Form report (HSMV 90010S) in its entirety must include a Narrative/Diagram when the following criteria are met: (1) Resulted in death of, personal injury to, or any indication of complaints of pain or discomfort by any of the parties or passengers involved in the crash (2) Leaving the scene involving damage to attended vehicles or property (F.S. 316.061(1)) (3) Driving while under the influence (F.S. 316.193) (4) Rendered a vehicle inoperable to a degree that required a wrecker to remove it from the scene of the crash (5) Involved a commercial motor vehicle.
The Short Form (HSMV 90010S) designation is used to report other types of traffic crashes. If form HSMV 90010S is used as a Short Form Report, diagrams and narratives are not required, otherwise, a Long and Short Form Report have the same requirements. Understanding how to read your accident report or even knowing what information to put into it can be complicated and confusing. The following documents can help provide a comprehensive guide:
|Florida HSMV 90010S Traffic Crash Report|
|Uniform Crash Report Manual|
|Self File Form|
|Florida Crash Manual|
How to Get Your Florida State Highway Patrol Accident Report
1. Order Online Through FLHSMV Crash Portal
To request your Florida crash report online from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) Crash Portal, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. You will need to provide your driver's license number and may be asked for other identifying information, such as your report number, VIN number, or last name. In order to obtain a crash report, you must pay the statutorily required fee of $10.00 per report, plus an additional $2.00 convenience fee for each payment transaction. Customers are limited to a maximum of 10 reports per transaction. Please note that law enforcement agencies have 10 days to submit crash reports in Florida.
2. By Mail or In-Person
If requesting your crash report by mail or in person, you must complete a signed,
Sworn Statement for Crash Report form,
along with a $10 payment made out to “FLHSMV” for the report.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
3. Other Data Sites like LexisNexis or CrashDocs
These can be a good reliable source of data. However, the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in Florida. (sometimes less than 50%)
Looking for a specific Florida county or city?
Florida Accident Reports - FAQ
Are both Long Form or Short Form (Form 90010S) crash reports required to be submitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV)?
No. Pursuant to section 316.066(1)(f), Florida Statutes, either the long-form or short-form crash reports prepared by law enforcement must be submitted to FLHSMV and may be maintained by the law enforcement officer’s agency.
When is a long-form crash report required?
A Florida Traffic Crash Report, Long Form must be completed and submitted to the department within ten days after an investigation is completed by the law enforcement officer who, in the regular course of duty, investigates a motor vehicle accident that:
The Florida Traffic Crash Report, Long Form must include:
When is a short-form crash report required?
In any accident for which a Florida Traffic Crash Report, Long Form is not required, the law enforcement officer may complete a short-form crash report or provide a driver exchange-of-information form to be completed by all drivers and passengers involved in the crash. The short-form report must include:
Who can get an FHP accident report?
To protect your privacy, only parties directly involved in the crash can receive a Florida traffic crash report. All Florida car accident reports are made available ten days after the incident, but they are prohibited from public disclosure for 60 days after the report date.
While only parties directly involved in the crash may receive a copy of their Florida crash report, other specific parties listed in the Florida statutes may also request a report. Unlawful disclosure of confidential personal information before the 60-day limit is up can lead to criminal third-degree felony charges.
Within the 60-day window, you can request your report by mail or in person, but you must have a Sworn Statement to Obtain a Crash Report to submit to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
You can request your accident report through the FLHSMV crash portal. Enter your report number, if available, and pay the $10 free plus an added $2 convenience fee for each transaction. If your request is accepted, you will need to wait for an email containing a download link with the required PDF files.
Note that this link to your FLHSMV crash report will only remain valid for 48 hours.
Why is it Important to Get a Copy of a Florida Hwy Patrol Accident Report?
Why should you obtain a Florida accident report in the first place?
When an incident on the roads occurs, a Florida Highway Patrol officer will respond and attend the scene. They will create a Florida highway patrol accident report containing vital information about the incident.
When you search for an accident report, you can expect to see the following:
Remember, a Florida crash report is not a binding document but an interpretation of what the officer saw. However, knowing how to read a Florida crash report is essential because it can still paint a fuller picture of the accident, which can support your injury claim and defend yourself against liability.
Regarding public records, can a law enforcement agency provide the crash report to the involved drivers but deny the insurance companies a copy?
No. In accordance with section 316.066, Florida Statutes, crash reports are confidential and exempt for a period of sixty-days. During this period, only the specific entities identified in section 316.066(2), Florida Statutes, can obtain a copy of the report. These entities include both the parties involved in the crash and their licensed insurance agents. For a complete list of entities, please refer to section 316.066, Florida Statutes. After sixty-days, all crash reports are public records and can be released.
How to file a report for a hit and run or in the event of a person unlawfully leaving the scene of the incident?
A police department is required to accept a report filed by an owner or operator whose vehicle has been damaged in an accident in which another person unlawfully left the scene even if damage to the vehicle does not exceed $1,000.