Request a New Jersey Crash Report
Find your New Jersey Accident Report Online
After a accident, you often find yourself needing a copy of your New Jersey accident report for legal or insurance reasons. Your New Jersey crash report will provide details about the incident including the date and time of the crash, the location, any environmental factors, and more. Let us help you get a copy of your New Jersey accident report.
Speak with a local attorney now:
407-634-5725New Jersey toll free
¿Español? Llame Gratis 24/7
The "New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Motor Vehicle Accident Report Form SR-1"
A New Jersey accident or crash report is officially titled as the " New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Motor Vehicle Accident Report Form SR-1 ". It is used by law enforcement officers in New Jersey to report traffic crashes to the Department of Public Safety. The details in the crash report are recorded by the police officer who attended the scene of the accident.
When Should I Request a Legal Consultation?
1. You Are Hurt or Suffered a Serious Injury or Permanent Disability
If you were seriously injured in an accident or acquired a serious illness, you definitely need a lawyer. There is no room for chance when a lifetime of pain, suffering, and bills are on the line.
2. You Aren't Sure Who is At Fault
If you were involved in an accident and it is unclear who was at fault, you should definitely consult with an attorney. In situations like this, the other party’s insurance company will try to blame you for damages.
3. There Are Multiple Parties Involved
If you were injured in an accident that involved multiple parties, consulting with a personal injury lawyer will give you the best chance at not being stuck with the bill.
4. The Insurance Company Denied or is Delaying Your Claim
Insurance companies know that 99% of people do not understand all the complicated laws and procedures that take place in a personal injury claim.
5. An Injury Lawyer is Paid Only When The Case Settles
A personal injury attorney gets paid by winning money for their client through a personal injury lawsuit.
How do I find my New Jersey crash report?
New Jersey is a bit unique in that it has toll roads, which are handled differently than non-toll roads. So the first thing you’ll need to do is determine if your crash was on a toll road or a non-toll road. If you’re unsure, the case number for non-toll road crashes usually start with A, B, C, and V, while case numbers for toll road crashes on the New Jersey Turnpike and Garden State Parkway usually begin with D and E. If you can locate the case number that will help you determine whether your accident was on a toll road or a non-toll road in the event that you can’t remember.
If your accident occurred on the Atlantic City Expressway, scroll down to the section titled “How to find an Atlantic City Expressway crash report” for instructions on how to access your crash report.
Request your New Jersey crash report online
While an online crash report may be delivered the same day, it could also take up to 3 months to be delivered. Typically your New Jersey crash reports will be available within 14 business days. You will receive an email with instructions on how to download your report once it’s ready. The accident report will cost you $13 for non-toll road reports and $5 for toll road reports and you will have access to the report for up to 14 days from the date of delivery.
To fill out a crash report request, use the New Jersey Crash Report Request form and select whether the crash was on a toll road or a non toll road.
Enter one of the following to do a search:
- Case number
- License plate number and crash date
- Driving license number and crash date
- Involved party last name and crash date
Note that if your accident was before January 1, 2013 it will not be available online. You will need to make your request in person or by mail. Details are outlined below in the “Request report by mail” section.
Request a New Jersey accident report by mail
To request a crash report by mail, print and fill out the Crash Report Request Form (SP275) and mail it with a check or money order in the amount of $10 made payable to New Jersey State Police to:Division of State Police
Criminal Justice Records Bureau
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068
Looking for a specific New Jersey county or city?
How to read my NJ accident report?
Whenever a car accident in New Jersey occurs, state law requires the police to be called and a New Jersey crash report filled out, known as N. J. S. A. 39:4-130. This report includes a full description of the accident, based on the observations and investigations of the attending officer.
Understanding how to read a state police crash report will enable you to double-check the details and highlight any discrepancies. Several numbered boxes appear on the NJ police report online, with each containing a code that you can match up with the New Jersey State Police legend.
All New Jersey accident reports are written in plain English and will include:
- Names and contact information of all involved parties.
- Witness information.
- Vehicle information, including license plate numbers, make, model, and year.
- Owner details.
- Illustration or diagram drawn by the attending officer.
- Speed limit, direction of travel, traffic signals, and other roadway data.
- Weather conditions.
- Date and time of the accident.
- Testimonials from witnesses, those involved, and the results of the officer’s investigations.
The New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety set the parameters for what counts as a completed report.
Request a certified copy of a crash report
If you need a certified copy of a crash report for legal purposes, return the Request to Obtain Copies of State Police Reports form to:Division of State Police, Criminal Justice Records Bureau
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton NJ 08628-0068
With your form, you must include a certified check, business check, or money order for $10 made out to New Jersey State Police.
How to find an Atlantic City Expressway crash report
If your accident occurred on the Atlantic City expressway, these crashes are handled by the Atlantic City Police who can be contacted at (609) 965-7200 ext. 108 or at the address below:Atlantic City Expressway Authority
P.O. Box 389
Hammonton, NJ 08037
There is also a third party website, BuyCrash.com, where you can obtain a report. You will need the date of the incident and the last name of the person involved in the accident. Reports through this website cost $5.
Basic facts about traffic accidents in New Jersey
In 2018, there were a total of 278,413 crashes in New Jersey. New Jersey ranks at the bottom with fewer fatalities per 100,000 people than most other states when it comes to traffic accidents that end in fatalities. According to Times of Northwest Indiana, in 2015, New Jersey had an average of 7.58 average fatalities per 100,000 people.
New Jersey Accident Reports - FAQ
What information do you need to find your accident report in New Jersey?
To search for a crash report in New Jersey using their online request system, you will need to be able to provide one of the following:
Once you fill out the form with some of the information above, you will be able to locate and order your accident report online.
When do I file an accident report in New Jersey?
If a police officer shows up at the accident scene, you will not have to file an accident report because they will do a report based on their findings. However, if no police officers are called to the accident, you may need to file your own accident report depending on if it meets certain criteria. For any accident occurring in New Jersey that results in any person’s injury or death, or damage to property of any one person in excess of $500, you must report the accident within 10 days.
New Jersey has a self-reporting crash form called SR-1 that is used to report a crash that was not investigated by police. You can download the form here.
Once you have completed the form, all reports should be sent to:NJ Department of Transportation
1035 Parkway Avenue
PO Box 600
Trenton, NJ 08625-0600
ATTN: Bureau of Transportation Data and Safety
How much does it cost to get a NJ State Police accident report?
Whether a crash occurs within the jurisdiction of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority or on any of the other roadways of the Garden State, basic crash investigation reports are classified as a public record. These public records may be purchased online.
In the event of a Serious/Fatal Investigation Report, the data is not considered public records. Requesting the results of these investigations requires a subpoena signed by a judge or an officer of the court.
Ordering New Jersey car accident reports on non-toll roads costs $13.00. For a New Jersey State Police accident report on a toll road, these reports are available for $5.00. In the event of a serious or fatal crash investigation, this report costs $20.00. Any photographic print-ups cost $5.00 each, with a maximum of ten prints available.