West Virginia Accident Report Lookup
Request A West Virginia Crash Report Online
When you’re involved in an accident and need to access your accident report, it can be tricky to figure out how to get a copy if you need one for your personal records or your attorney as requested one for legal purposes. On this page, we’ve gathered all of the information you’ll need to obtain a copy of your accident report.
Currently, you can get a copy of your accident report from West Virginia State Police by filing out their Criminal and Crash Report Request form. If your accident took place in the Huntington area and Huntington State Police responded to your accident, you will be able to find information to access your crash report online on this page as well.
Alternatively, if your report doesn’t come up with any of the methods outlined below, your best course of action would be to contact the local law enforcement department where your accident occurred to ask if they can point you in the right direction.
Getting an Accident Report from West Virginia State Police
Getting a copy of a crash report in West Virginia is pretty simple if West Virginia State Police responded to the scene. All you have to do to get a copy of a crash report in West Virginia is fill out a Criminal and Crash Report Request Form.
Once you’ve filled out the form, you will also have to provide payment for the $20 fee to get a copy. This can be paid via certified check, business check or money order payable to Superintendent, West Virginia State Police, or you can add your credit card information to the bottom of the form. Note that you cannot pay via cash, personal check, or business starter checks.
If you need a certified copy, you will have to pay a $25 fee on top of the $20 fee for the report. There are also additional fees depending on the type of report you need. All fees are outlined below:
- Vehicle Crash Report: $20
- Certify Crash Report: add $25
- Fax Crash Report: add $25
- Video/Audio Tapes: add $50
- Set of Photos (up to 12): add $25
- Each set of Additional Photos (up to 12): add $25
- Reconstructed Report: $500
- Reconstructed Report Certified: $505
- Reconstructed Report Fax: $505
Once you have your Criminal and Crash Report Request Form completed with proper payment attached, you can mail it to:
West Virginia State Police
Traffic Records Section
701 Jefferson Road
South Charleston, WV 25309-1698
Getting an Accident Report from Huntington Police Department
If your accident occurred in the city of Huntington, you may be pleased to hear that Huntington Police Department has made their accident reports available online through Report Beam. You will need to fill out the online form with as much detail as possible so that your report can be found.
Basic facts about traffic accidents in West Virginia
In the 2018 report by IIHS, West Virginia saw a total of 265 fatal car crashes taking the lives of 294 people. This comes out to 16.3 deaths per 100,000 people in West Virginia which had a population of 1,805,832. This is much higher than the United State average of 11.2 deaths per 100,000 people.
What Information do you need to get your accident report?
On the Criminal and Crash Report Request Form, you will need to provide the following information:
It’s also important to note that you will need to pay the $20 fee by credit card, certified check, business check, or money order made payable to: Superintendent, West Virginia State Police
Do I need to file an accident report when I’m in a car accident?
In West Virginia, law requires that you immediately notify law enforcement of an accident that results in any injuries or at least $1,000 in damages. If this happens, the officer will interview all involved parties and witnesses within 24 hours and will file a report within 10 days.
If the accident isn’t serious enough to warrant calling the police (no injuries and less than $1,000 in damages), then it’s up to the drivers to file their own report if there are damages of over $500. Drivers will fill out an AR-13 form (word document) which can be turned in to your local police station. They also have these forms available at police stations if you prefer to pick one up to fill out rather than printing it.